Today, I fell in love

Today, I fell in love.

I fell in love with my 5 year old daughter.

Screenshot (40)

Now, let’s get one thing clear – I adore my daughter anyway. But today, we went out for a walk after dinner, just she and I, because her dad/my husband wasn’t home. And what is so amazing to me is that she has this ability to see the beauty in everything. We walked past a bunch of lilacs, and she announced how much she loves lilacs. We heard what we are pretty sure was some baby birds, and she was utterly amazed by that. We passed a mailbox that had a decoration on it, and she announced that it was the most beautiful decoration she’d ever seen.

2013-02-10 11.38.58

My daughter is priceless. She has her own style, and is self confidant in a way I could never comprehend. She’s 5 going on 17, with all the sass of a 23 year old. She is self assured, and doesn’t care what the world thinks of her. If I could have just a fraction of the confidence she has, I would be set.

And she’s so smart! Man, is she smart. We all want to think our kids are geniuses, but sometimes I’m pretty sure mine could be. She’s so damn smart it scares me. I know I won’t be able to keep up with her, intellectually, if she keeps going at this rate. She is a little sponge – soaking up the world around her – words, science, math, spelling, cooking, computers… everything is fresh, and new, and exciting.

Sometimes, my love for my daughter moves me to tears. The sheer joy of knowing that I get to be her mom is almost too overwhelming to bear. It is true, what people say, about never loving anyone as much as you love your child(ren). The enormity of what I feel is more than I could ever say.

My words are not eloquent by any means. But they are from my heart. And maybe someday she’ll read this, and think, “Man, did my mom love me, or what??” And she won’t even understand a fraction of the love, the amazement, and the pride I feel for her.

I love you, my little munchkin.

2013-03-31 12.20.55

One thought on “Today, I fell in love

  1. She will…someday she’ll understand, when she feels that kind of love herself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

