30 Days of Truth: Day 10 – Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know

My previous boss. Hands down.

Let’s back track a little. I worked at my last job for a little over 4 1/2 years. I liked what I was doing. But, after a while, I started to feel under appreciated, under utilized, and that I was not doing what I could do to the best of my ability.

But, to top it off, my boss came across as a passive aggressive bully a lot of the time, whether she knew it or not. She was known for making people feel very small, and I watched her do it several times. She got too involved in employee’s personal lives, including asking me to take care of monitoring a coworkers finances.

Um, no.

Completely over the line, in my opinion.

As I have settled in to my new job, I find myself wanting to vent about things that she did when I worked there with my new coworkers. But really, what will that accomplish? Nothing. So I bite my tongue. Now I need to figure out how to gently get off the email list for the weekly updates she sends out to her volunteers and such. I can’t keep holding on to this job. I missed it terribly for about a week, but I am so happy where I am working now that I can’t let her continue to bring me down now that I’m so happy and doing so well.

Today, I am going to take a deep breath, and learn to let go of toxic people in my life (the ones that AREN’T my clients….), and will feel lighter for it.

Leave a Reply

