A PAX East Review

The reason why your IT guy is “out sick.”

So. I went, I saw, I conquered. Well, not really conquered. But I did have an AWESOME time. My costume wasn’t bad for my first ever cosplay, and I fully intend on doing it again, but I’m going to put a LOT of work in it. As in, I’m already starting to plan for next year!

It’s hard to completely pinpoint just what made PAX so much fun. But, it WAS!

When I shared that picture on Facebook, someone commented saying how it was like “Meh.” Like two people in costumes battling with staves and daggers was the most natural thing to see in the world.  JayRain and I were waiting in line to get into the Dragon Age panel with a ton of other people.

And those were just the Dragon Age cosplayers!

Okay, let me start at the beginning. I drove down on Friday morning, but I will NEVER wait until that late again. If I go alone next year, I’m going to pay extra to take the train into South Station. Driving was a hassle, and I ended up having to park .5 miles away. Actually, it WAS pretty nice having my car there, because I could go do important stuff like… have a change of clothes in my car.

I got in and found my partner in crime pretty quickly. She and I headed off to do some exploring, and then I went to a panel called “Gaming for Grownups.” It was not as interesting as I’d hoped, so I took off a little early to have some lunch with JayRain. We made our way to the Dragon Age panel line, where I took this picture of JayRain and Bard:

And Bard took this picture of JayRain and I:

And then, we were just chillaxin in line, when WHAM!

That’s right. There we are with David Gaider, BioWare senior writer, lead writer for Dragon Age, Dragon Age: Awakening, Dragon Age II, Baldurs Gate 2, Neverwinter Nights and Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic. So awesome. He is such a nice guy too! A very approachable guy, very friendly, and seems like he would be a cool person to know. So, Mr. Gaider, if you’re reading this, it was very nice to meet you, and can I come work for you? 😉

So, the top two are pics of other cosplayers we saw while standing in line for the panel. The next two are from the panel itself. The last one is with Jessica from BioWare who was dressed up as mage!Hawke from DAII.

After we went to the panel, we hit up the expo floor again.

This was neat, and I totally wish I’d had more time to spend down there. I didn’t have the chance to see at least half of what I wanted to see… Next year – the three day pass!

And that’s just a tiny portion of everything we saw there! When I say tiny, too, I mean it was minute.

I want to share more and more and more about what it was like, but it’s getting late, and I have an early morning tomorrow… But for now, enjoy the pictures, and check out this video of the Dragon Age panel in the meantime!

Bioware and Dragon Age at PAX East

4 thoughts on “A PAX East Review

  1. “It was very nice to meet you, and can I come work for you?”

    … If Gaider says yes, can you get me in at your new job? 😉

  2. Nice in-a-nutshell review! I think the train to South Station is a great idea; even a bus wouldn’t be bad, I think there’s a station in Stratham or Portsmouth. I’m going to work on my scrapbook tonight and tomorrow, and hopefully have it done for the weekend. If I work nonstop (like on my armor) I should be able to!

    • Can’t wait to see it! I agree, too, about the bus. I considered that idea, but that was a little harder to work around, schedule wise. I think if I weren’t on a time constraint this year, I would have done it. Like I said – next year-the three day pass!

Leave a Reply

