Well, it finally happened…

For the first time, in a long time (okay, a few years) I’ve developed a celebrity crush. I didn’t realize I had this crush until I had a dream about this person last night.

Now, Alistair, voiced by Steve Valentine, will always have a special place in my heart. I wouldn’t be a Dragon Age fanatic without him. But last night, someone new crept in as my (not-so-) secret crush.

Let me preface the revelation of who it is by telling you that I am happily married to my husband of 6 1/2 years, and we have a great life together. We have a super little family, not to mention a neurotic dog, a bitch of a cat and another cat who either scratches or pees on everything.

So, by now, you’re probably wondering who my new-found crush-interest is. Are you ready for this?

Richard Dean Anderson.

But, like, not modern day RDA. MacGyver-era RDA.

Okay, realistically, I probably have a crush on MacGyver.

*swoon*

What? Huh? *cough* Sorry…

Is it normal for a 30 year old woman to develop crushes like this? I sure hope so, because otherwise, I might be a lost cause.

We’ve watched a lot of MacGyver in our house over the last year – we just started season 5, actually. Thank God for Netflix on our Xbox 360! Even Kender adores MacGyver. She tells me that she wants to meet him some day, and she pretends to talk to him on the phone. For a while, she was going to marry him, but the sheer fact that he is easily old enough to be her grandfather now might just pose to be a bit of a shock to her poor little system. So I just go with it.

So, there you have it. My big confession. I even have had a dream that I was dating him, and he was pushing me through an air duct. I don’t know where that came from. But I think that means I’ve officially watched too much MacGyver. Or not enough. I’m going to go with the latter.

4 thoughts on “Well, it finally happened…

  1. It’s okay, I have a crush on Gossip Girl, actor, Ed Weswick. When I was a child I used to have a crush on Jimmy Stewert, and Don Adams.

  2. Indeed, I agree, though it hasn’t happened for awhile for me. Longest time crushes were Paula Abdul and Tiffani-Amber Thiessen growing up. Probably Stana Katic when we first starting watching Castle, but that passed pretty quickly.

    • When I was young, it was Jonathan Brandis all the way for me. My parents would tell you that it probably bordered on obsession. It lasted for quite a few years. I was really sad to learn that he’d committed suicide back in 2004, I think it was.

  3. bearonthecouch

    My character-crush right now is absolutely Hardison from Leverage – nerd love all the way!

Leave a Reply

