I’m sorry, but what’s your moms name?

I’ve been spending a lot of time planning Kender’s fourth birthday party for her and her friends. We sent invitations to all of her classmates by way of the school cubby system, and asked people to RSVP and everything.

How many of the parents of the 8 kids in my daughters class have gotten back to me? Two. Thankfully, we had the foresight to invite a couple of friends from her old playgroup too, so right now we’re looking at a total of 4 kids, which isn’t bad for a 4th birthday party. (I’m planning on 7 or 8 kids actually showing up, though, to be on the safe side).

Which leads me to the point of my posting today. Jokingly, yesterday, I posted a status on Facebook saying there should be a way to search for parents by looking up the kids names. In thinking about it, though, it makes me sad to realize that I only know the first names of two of the mothers of kids in my  daughters preschool class.

Why do I only know these two women’s names? Have I been too shy to ask the others for their names? Well, yes, that’s part of it. But communication is a two way street. They’ve never asked me for mine either. The moms are all collectively known as “The Moms” or individually as “Kyle’s Mom,” “Gabriel’s Mom,” and so on.

So I was thinking to myself that I would look up some of them on Facebook, to see if I could find out if their kid was coming to the party. And then it occurred to me that there is no way for me to search for someone who’s name I don’t know!

I don’t actually think that Facebook should allow the ability to search by a kids name, so lets get that out of the way. I actually think that’s a terrible idea. But it leads me to think that I need to make a closer bond with some of these ladies. I’ll be seeing them for the next couple of years…. well, at least the next year and a half.

I guess my goal for the rest of this week is to meet one more mom who’s name I didn’t know before. Maybe Kender will end up with a few more kids at her party if I do!

6 thoughts on “I’m sorry, but what’s your moms name?

  1. You know, I remember my own mother musing on this. Of course, this is back in the day before Facebook, but we lived in a small town so she knew most of them anyway. The reason I remember this was because one of my friends had a rather common last name, so she was asking to see which one of the many families with that name was hers, and when she asked what their mother’s name was, the answer was: “Mom!”

  2. I like that you’ve resolved to learn more names this way. I think Facebook makes connecting with some people really easy because you can look for mutual friends and all… but at the same time it’s hard when you don’t have that common ground. Where to go from there? I think you’ve got the right idea though!

  3. If it makes you feel better, I don’t know one parent’s name in my sons class. There are only 10 kids and he’s been going twice a week since Sept. And I was a teacher!

  4. If it makes you feel any better at all, the teachers don’t know anybody’s names either (I’m awful. Even in not-work settings I tell people that if you want be to remember your name, you’d better be under 12 years old). “so-and-so’s mom” works just fine in most situations… actually – are you cool with that? Or should I really be making more of an effort to learn my students’ parents’ names?

    • To be honest, I think it depends on the level of involvement the parent shows. Are they non existant? “So-and-so’s Mom” works fine. If they’re someone that brings things in for the class when requested, they’re prompt for pick up/drop off, they are involved in their child’s education, then I would think you’d want to be on a first name basis with them, or at least call them “Mr/Mrs./Miss (insert last name here).” If my daughter is next to me, though, usually calling me “Mom” is fine.

  5. Nice color choice on the blog. It is really easy on my eyes and I have bad eyes too so that’s a really big compliment lol

Leave a Reply

