An open letter to the woman that bagged my groceries

Dear Aisle 4 bagger at the grocery store,

Thank you for doing such a great job bagging my groceries. No, really, I mean it, I’m not being sarcastic or snide. You did awesome!

But.

The next time you start bagging my groceries, only to discover that I’m trying to reach across the cashier and the shopping cart to hand you my reusable bags, don’t give me that look. You know the one, the look that says I just made your life a living hell by trying to save the planet a little.

Between the $97 in groceries in my carriage, and my lunatic three year old hanging off me, getting those bags to you wasn’t the first thing on my priority list when I first got to the check out. Yes, next time I will definitely try to have them ready, but in the mean time, just smile and say “Oh, sure! No problem!”

It wasn’t even a big deal to put the plastic bag you already had filled with my steak, chicken and ground turkey into my reusable bag, and I even appreciated it, in case any of the meat leaked.

Maybe you had a bad day. I TOTALLY understand that, because I’ve had a lot of those lately. But don’t shoot the death glare at your customers, okay? They don’t really appreciate it.

Thanks,

The customer with $97 in groceries and the lunatic three year old.

3 thoughts on “An open letter to the woman that bagged my groceries

  1. that is fantastic! i have totally felt this too… that look 🙂

  2. I can see both sides of this one. Having worked as a cashier/bagger in a grocery store, for years, we actually got rated on speed, and reusable bags slow us down considerably. But still… no excuse for rudeness or death glares, really, and reusable bags are awesome!

    “Take your canvas bags when you go to the supermarket!”

Leave a Reply

